What's new
What's new

Can someone please explain the difference between Single Phase 230v and 2 Phase 230v

Spud

Diamond
I am looking at a machine that is at a plant here that says 230v 2-phase.

Don't know if that will run on single phase 230v and if not what I would need to run 2-phase 230v.

I'm no electrician but I think standard residential 230 volt is 2 phase at a 90 degree phase angle
230 volt single phase or 230 volts on a single hotline would be difficult to get in a residential situation without a Transformer

I am not a US rare electrical grid expert by any means, but..

I think I have read somewhere that 2-phase power in the US was used, very rare, in some places.

In most of the rest-of-world,...
power that is single phase is == 220V (== 240V, +/-).
No hot/neutral etc. The lines are equal.
A safety ground, not in use normally, and a brown/blue color for the power lines, most commonly, both carrying the 220V single phase.
Connectors not keyed- since you can invert the plug or swap the lines and everything works just the same.

Then, most 3-phase is 220-240V (less common/rare) or 380V (400V, same thing).
3 equal lines, plus safety ground, total 4.
Safety gnd is green/yellow, mostly, today(s).

2-phase power ? Whats that ?
Moral of story, I think.
Are you really in an area that has ever had 2-phase power ?

I would suspect its either single phase 220V or 3-phase 220, and thus...
the 3-phase would have 4 wires, and the single phase, US, might have 3 ?

I think the US 220 would then be line-hot-neutral in us terminology ?? or not ??
My first thought would be poor markings.

Since You say plant, I hear "big power" ie 25-40 kW and up, and thus I would never ever do a "smoke test".

Otoh, depending on motor, a lot of 3-phase motors can run on tiny current no-load.
Like 0.1 kW, or 100W, or 50 watts.

If you have a fast gfi, and a spare line, it might be possible to test it, cheaply.
Please dont do this from the main panel of a big industrial plant ..