What's new
What's new

Choosing the correct VFD

UnusualFab

Aluminum
I'm new to VFD's so I just wanted to make sure that i'm getting the one that I need. I recently purchased a Bridgeport mill:

IMG-20111114-00325.jpg

It's an older style with the pancake motor and I will be running it off single phase 220V. The motor is 3-phase and wired for 440V so i'll be rewiring that to 220V 3-phase.

IMG-20111104-00308.jpg

Here's the motor ID plate:

IMG-20111031-00305.jpg

I started a thread to get as much info as I could about the mill and someone suggested this VFD. It's for 1-phase 220V in/3-phase 220V out and for a 1hp motor. A few posts after that was posted someone mentioned getting a VFD good for 2hp. Do I need a higher horsepower VFD for what i'm running? I plan to wire up a plug (I have a 60 amp outlet for my TIG, can't use both at the same time, so I won't have to drop a new line), to the VFD, then directly to the motor. I'd like to run a setup like this to control the on/off and speed of the motor. I am ready to purchase a VFD but I just want to make sure I get the right one the first time.... Any help or suggestions are gladly appreciated!

NO NEED TO GET A BIGGER VFD..

Only time you need an oversize VFD, is if it is a 3 phase rated input model, and you are supplying single phase instead.. many lower power VFD's (under 3 hp models) are rated for single OR 3 phase input..

VFD's have short time overload capability built in.. Exact sized RPC's and static's do not..

If VFD is rated for 1 hp 115 v in, and 220 v 3 phase out. It will work PERFECTLY... You are driving a 1 hp motor..

Yes, you can get a 115v input, 220 v 3 ph out 1 hp VFD. Save 220 v circuit for a bigger machine... For example here : Adjustable Frequency Drive, Teco VFD, Phase Converter, Variable Phase Output

A 220 v in 1 hp drive, will also work PERFECTLY...

As will of course, 3 phase 220 :)