What's new
What's new

Convert motor or use phase converter?

Keithw

Plastic
I have a Southbend 10K lathe I recently acquired. It came with a 3 phase 3/4 HP motor. I am a hobbyist in my home shop. Should I convert the motor to a single phase or go with a phase converter?

If I change the motor what would I need to have comperable performance to the original motor?

If I go with a phase converter, what type, brand, etc do I need? Would I need to do any attic/electrical upgredes from the panel in the shop?

Thanks for any advice.
Keith

The new school way is to buy a Variable Frequency Device (VFD). It runs on 230 single phase and will drive a 3 phase motor at variable speeds.

That said, I have a heavy 10 that I run off a static converter. I can take .1 inch depth of cuts in steel with chips coming off blue and the motor doesn't complain a bit. I don't need any more power than that.

You can also get VFD'S that use 120vac input to make 230vac 3 phase power. These are available up to 1hp rating. The variable speed aspect is nice compared to a rotary phase converter.

You can easily build your own phase converter by scrounging a 3-5hp 3ph motor and going to the converter section of this forum. Cost will be the same or less than a VFD or replacing the motor with single phase. If you never intend on getting any more three phase machinery, VFD is a consideration, but you have to get a new VFD for every machine and every motor on that machine. I have machines with as many as three motors running at once (spindle and two feed motors). I have a 5hp home made converter and it runs any of the nine 3ph machines in my shop with a total of fourteen motors, one of which is a SB10L. I'd have a couple of grand tied up in VFDs to run all that and the controls would be very complicated. As it is, I just fire up the converter and run them like they were designed.

go with the VFD. I know lots of people running VFD's on all the machines in there shop.