What's new
What's new

drum switch wiring

retbum61

Plastic
Here's my problem guys- i have a baldor 1/2 hp. motor # F AE280085 1140 r.p.m. 115/220 v. It has 7 wires coming out of it. 1-2-3-4-5-8 and j Is it possible to wire this to a reversing drum switch? I've not seen this type of wiring before, but then i'm not a electrician by trade. I believe it is also an explosion proof motor. It does say it can be reversed by switching #5 and #8 wires. Any feedback would be appreciated! Thanks!

retbum61

I'll try and get a photo of the wiring diagram in here, but for the time being, the wires are as follows: on 115v. #1-3+5 are connected to L1.....#2-8+j are wirenutted together.....#4 is connected to L2. On 230v. #1 is connected to L1....#4 is connected to L2.....#2-3+5 are wirenutted..... and j+8 are wirenutted. I'm using 115v. right now, but i could switch to 230v. if need be. I'm converting my drill press so i can reverse the motor for backing out taps. I don't have a tap-o-matic, so this is my next best way! I need to find out if this is even possible before i buy the drum switch. Thanks for any input!

"What does the J wire connect to?"

NEMA standard is T1, T3, T2 and T4 for the run windings.

Nomenclature varies in the start circuit. T5 and T6 for the start winding. C7 and C8 for the capacitor is common. J9 and J10 for the centrifugal switch. P11 and P12 for the thermal protector (if provided) is a possibility. As there is no ambiguity with the capacitor, centrifugal switch and thermal protector, and as these are not polarity sensitive, these could have other numbers.

In one specific application, for 230 volts, T3, T4 and T5 are connected together with a wire nut and J10 is connected to the drum switch.