What's new
What's new

Has anyone actually run a 208V motor on 230v?

bill1608

Plastic
I know that you shouldn't theoretically run a 208V motor on 230V, but I would like to hear from someone who has actually tried it. My 2 applications are not full hp continuous duty and I can put a temperature sensor on the motor to monitor the temperature. My motors are 3 phase and will be running off a rotary converter. One of my 208V motors is on a wood shaper and the other is on a metal cutting vertical band saw. If I burn up one of these motors, I just end up replacing it anyway, so not much to lose by trying.

Right, wrong or indifferent, its a common thing. As a commercial/industrial electrician I often run into 240 volt grounded delta, secondary in older commercial mills and other buildings.

I have run 200V motors off of 240 V . They started to run very hot. I shut them down before I burned up a good motor. Bob

It will run, but how hot it may get are depend on many factors, specific to each situation.

Design of the 208V motor should be rated for +10% in voltage which puts you at 229V, but if your RPC is running at 245V out, your a little further than the range +10% Overheat could be possible, coupled with extra heat from not perfectly balanced voltages from the RPC. Lightly loaded would reduce the risk.

Then there's the issue of the overload relay setting. For a 208V setting it could be too large for 245V line current to properly protect the motor.

If it were critical or expensive to replace / repair, you could use a buck boost transformer to reduce the voltage below 230V to get within the +10% rating.

A 16V buck transformer would reduce 240V to 224V. Right in the sweet spot between the 208V equipment and the 240V rated equipment. Then there shouldn't be excessive heating with either type equipment being used within the +/- 10% envelope.

SAF Ω

Two more jokers in that deck....