What's new
What's new

Help, 220 From Sub Box to Garage

fst2011

Plastic
Hello everyone,

First want to say I'm complete novice but Im not all thumbs. I searched this forum for some info and found allot of good reading but nothing that could help. Can someone please take the time and try to explain in simple terms. Some back story, cause after hopefully getting this figured out I will post new question about possible help in design of track system for my son. But thats down the road a bit.

My son has down syndrome and few years back hurt himself and now cant walk. We looked into getting a medical grade track system but costs $40k and it costs allot to get. And other things for around the house to make moving easier for him. He is non-verbal and cant say if wants to go out. So I figured I would try and make some of the things that are not too dangerous if they fail...example if I weld a small ramp and it breaks its not going to harm him.

So I was given some shop tools for either cheap or free only problem is they run on 220. The garage only setup to run basic 110. I was going to run a line from basement to garage but noticed I had a 'sub-box' think its called that outside near garage. I'm hoping this might work cause it seems it would save me allot of money.

The sub-box was used few years ago for a hot tub. We dont have it anymore but box is still there. When in basement, it looks like it runs to main box.

My question, can I use this sub-box to power everything in garage that needs 220? Would I change everything in sub box or leave it alone? Would I need to change anything on the 'main box' in the basement? As for the sub-box, do I 'need' to run the wire from the sub box underground to garage or can I just pipe it and drill hole into garage?