What's new
What's new

Help with Hobart mixer 115v 1ph, 1/3hp 60hz motor

MrPeables

Plastic
note; if this thread is posted in the wrong place,please point me in the right direction.

About me: I can tear an engine apart and put back together, I was a crane operator for nine years, I like challenges that expand my mind. That's why I'm here. I have limited knowledge of electrical theory, print reading and using a multimeter.

The trouble: I saved this old Hobart mixer from a junkpile. The switch was an on-off-momentary on, switch hooked up to a timer. The switch was fried along with the five wires that lead to it. The new switch is on or off… Hobart cannot get the on -off -momentary on.

After replacing the wires and connecting the leads I managed to get the motor to start. However now, after stripping and painting I cannot for the life of me get it to run again! It just humms. I replaced the starter capacitor and I've tried every imaginable configuration of the five wires to no avail.

I've tested the nine leads that go to the stater. And this is what I found:

T1-T2....2.5 ohm
T3-T4....2.6 ohm
T5-T6.....3.9 ohm
T7-T8.....3.9 ohm

Last lead is labeled K-1 and it goes to the centrifugal switch that's connected to the capacitor. I believe NC during start.

K1-T3...0.3 ohm
K1-T4...2.5 ohm

I believe that the windings are okay… Can someone confirm that? But I perform the correct test? Any other ideas?

I'll try to post some pictures.

Thank you in advance!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    97.1 KB · Views: 3,193
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    90.7 KB · Views: 10,352
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    94.6 KB · Views: 5,674
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    87.5 KB · Views: 6,157
Last edited:
MrPeables