What's new
What's new

Home built rotery converter questions

Billyboyr66

Aluminum
I bought an older round ram j head mill and the guy gave me this rotery converter among some other stuff. It looks like it has been used, but not recently. I have plans to re wire it due to insulation missing on some wires from mice. But before i do i want some more experianced opinions.

Is there anything i should replace, other then wiring? I am going to use some wire distribution blocks vs the eye lets and bolting them together like whom ever built this converter.

Im no master electrician/or controlls guy so im not sure what some of the items in there are. I would assume That one is contactor, maybe a relay, but as for the rest im not sure. There is no start stop buttons so i assume the past owner controlled it remotely. With that being said id like to do the same but dont know where to connect start/stop controlls to.

Is there a way to check all of the power caps in there to make sure that they are good? Can u ohm them? I know my way around a volt/amp meter and have several.

I know the theory behind the converter, and the basics of how it works but id rather have some other opinions before i run any power to it.

Yes, i just didn't picture the motor. Still trying to figure out exactly what size motor it is. Its big and its heavy. Lol. The id tag is missing from motor though. Its at least a 10 hp motor judging from past experiances with large motors. The controll box i shared pics of was attached to the motor and wired in. i dissconnected it so that i could get it up on my work bench. That motor has to weigh 250 lbs. or more by its self.

Repairing a Home Brew RPC

Biilyboy, some pointers on getting a RPC up and running.