What's new
What's new

NEC Handbook Editions

AnAirplane

Aluminum
So not an electrification by trade, nor even have that many hours under my belt wiring, but I would like to get more proficient. Don't one want to one those guys that have haphazard wires sticking out everywhere, and conduit laid where you smack your head into it while you walk by. I've witnessed to many "why would you do that" setups in many shops. Even if I have a professional do a wiring job, I would still at least be able to confidently identify and say, "no that's wrong, start over."

I'm assuming studying the NEC Hand book should help stave off learning bad habits early. Problem is, which edition should I buy?

Is it worth buying the 2014, when the 2017 is coming out soon - should I wait for it to release?​

Is the 2008 edition worth it or not? A comparison list I found shows that it's mostly just the arc/ground fault equipment requirements for households that was added to the 2014 edition. I namely ask, because the 2008 is dirt cheap.​

Is there any other guide books, or resources I should be aware of for shop wiring?​

Thank in advance.

If you are not an electrician or very familiar with the subject, I think you will find the actual NEC handbook almost indecipherable. I suggest you start with an internet search for information that explains the portion of the NEC you're interested in.

I picked up an older copy of the "Illustrated Guide to the National Electrical Code" pretty cheap. It doesn't replace the NEC and I doubt it covers everything but it is very readable. The "SPD (Selecting Protective Devices) Electrical protection handbook" is also worth taking a look at and can be downloaded from the Bussmann website.