What's new
What's new

Need to change ohm value of pot.

swellwelder

Stainless
Here's the set-up. I am in the process of installing a new DC drive on my EE1000. One of the pots I want to use is for the CSS(constant surface speed) This control pot has a rating of 50k, but the DC drive has a setting of only a 10k pot for speed control. So, is there any way to reduce the ohm value of the 50k pot so that the DC control thinks its a 10k pot?

Another question is the switching between the main speed control pot and this CSS pot. Would it be better to be using a switch that drops out one pot before the other replaces it electrically, or one that doesn't drop circuit A until circuit B is introduced? Seem like either way has its own problems, but I am no electrical engineer. I should mention that the DC control unit is almost exactly like a VFD except it only converts AC to DC, but not the next step of changing the current back to a frequency controlled AC The control is a Eurotherm brand, regenerative model.

Dale

Many VFD's have a scaling function to support variable resistance differences. Perhaps your DC drive does as well. 50K to 10K may be a stretch, even if it's only 5:1.

If I were running CSS, I would want a system that made me switch into the appropriate mode along with any electrical hardware. Having the spindle speed up "automagic like" could throw metal around.

Valley City, 'lived there as a boy. 340 6th street NW. I got caught out on the highliner a time or two. ;-)

Most VFDs use 0-10V control. The pot acts as a voltage divider to give the variable voltage.

Have you tried wiring up the 50K pot? I would be surprised if it didn't work just fine.