What's new
What's new

phase converter wiring and help

orange54

Plastic
let me start off by saying i am a longgg time lurker, but this is my first time posting. ive searched for hours and hours continuously, and ill admit, wiring is out of my element. im buying a vf2ss, a 14-40 manual lathe, a real saw (eventually), and the other equipment a real shop has. after fighting with the electric company and inspectors, (most of the fighting was getting them to return my calls). i have 200 amp service coming in hopefully by the end of this week, its not much, but for now its enough. its only single phase, so im going to need a phase converter. like i said, ive searched here for hours looking for answers, and honestly, there are so many mixed answers and people who know way more than me for me to grasp what they are saying. ive gathered that haas over rates their power requirements and hp, and that i can likely get away with a smaller phase converter and smaller breaker than their recommended 100 amp. i was looking at the american rotary ad 50,(AD Series American Rotary) which gives me 25 hp starting power. i do plan on using the haas in mostly aluminum, with full 1400in/min rapids, and doing a 50/50 mix of heavy hogging and light high rpm finishing. this converter should be more than enough for a vf2 ss, and a 1440 manual lathe, possibly a bandsaw, depending on what saw i end up with- correct?

part 2 of my question-