What's new
What's new

Questions on Yaskawa V1000 drive

Randalthor

Cast Iron
I ended up buying a single phase V1000 drive for my 2J 1-1/2 Bridgeport mill.

CIMR-VUBA0010FAA - Yaskawa - AC Drives | Galco Industrial Electronics

I'm new to VFD's but have read the quick start manual (200+ pages).

https://www.galco.com/techdoc/yask/v1000_qs.pdf

I have some questions please, for anyone familiar with these drives.

1. I assume I want the control mode as Open Loop Vector, instead of V/f for a Bridgeport mill?

2. How fast can I safely stop the motor without any damage to the motor/head. My understanding is that there is a built in braking feature on this VFD. Of course the mill has a mechanical brake built in the head, but if I can stop the motor with the braking feature of the VFD, that would be a nice feature. I just don't how fast one can safely stop it over and over, without damage.

3. At the end of the manual (page 201) it suggests a 50A input fuse for this drive. This seems ridiculous to me, as the wire recommended is #12, plus the drive doesn't pull anywhere near 50 amps. I'm sure I'm misunderstanding something. Can someone please clarify?

I'm sure I'll have more questions as I move forward, but any help on any of these questions would be appreciated.

1. Yes, I would use sensorless vector setting, you get much better control of speed and power, in particular at lower Hz.

2. Braking is a function of momentum in the system, and braking time is dependent on if you use an external braking resistor (which I recommend). You can get a generic braking resistor for $40-50, the resistance value and wattage is dependent on the VFD model/voltage. On my 3Hp mill I have it set a 3 seconds stopping time. There is much more momentum in the system when using the back gear, so 3 seconds is a reasonable balance. One can use two different braking rates, so if something like the E-Stop was engaged you could get shorter braking times if desired. Acceleration is 5 seconds.