What's new
What's new

Replacing switch / resistance of a switch

tcncj

Cast Iron
Not sure where to ask this question. But I hope someone can help me.

I have a control panel that has a 3 buttons.
They starting to fail (and now they did) and I want to replace them.
The 3 buttons have a shared + and ground wire
The controls know which button is pressed based on the resistance of each button.
I measured the resistance and it's indeed different for each button.

But I'm a complete electronic noob.
What I did was using my multimeter at 200k to measure the resistance once a switch is pressed.
For example, one button had 16.2 (at 200k setting at multimeter).
My new button had 0.7 at the 200 setting (higher setting at multimeter resulted in 0).
So my question is. How can I make the resistance the same as the original button?

You need to solder some resistors between the individual switch contacts and the line (either side of the switch is fine). If you've got a local Maplin shop, they might have some left in the closing sale. Failing that CPC will sell you more than you need as a minimum quantity, but the price isn't much.

16.2 on the 200k or 20k setting would be 16.2k Ohms, you may find that the other values are about 4 and 8 k repectively, but the meter will tell you!

Whereabouts in the UK are you?

Thanks for the quick reply Mark.
These are the readings for the original stuff

16.2 Ohm
6,9 Ohm
and 2.6 Ohm

How do I calculate which resistors I need?
On the new buttons I read 0.7 (at 200 setting, original switches are measured at 200K). Is this 0.7 Ohm?
If so? for example: to reach 2.6 Ohm I just need to add a resistor of 1.9 Ohm?

Thanks for the quick reply Mark.
These are the readings for the original stuff

16.2 Ohm
6,9 Ohm
and 2.6 Ohm

How do I calculate which resistors I need?
On the new buttons I read 0.7 (at 200 setting, original switches are measured at 200K). Is this 0.7 Ohm?
If so? for example: to reach 2.6 Ohm I just need to add a resistor of 1.9 Ohm?