What's new
What's new

How to hook up power to a Delta 14" radial saw magnetic starter box

Vernon Tuck

Stainless
Guys,

A few days ago, I lucked into a deal in a 14" Delta radial arm saw model 33-400. According to the data plate and to information I found online the saw has a 3 hp single phase 220v motor.

When I bought the saw the cutting head and arm were dismounted from the base. Hence, the wire leading from the motor to the magnetic starter box was disconnected from the starter box. The ends of that wire are tinned but otherwise bare with no connectors.

I have no experience with magnetic starters not even single phase starters. I am unable to determine where the black and white wires coming from the motor, are supposed to be connected inside the box. The colors are green, black, and white. Inside the box all the green wires are connected to the frame. So I'm confident that green is ground (duh!)

I will genuinely appreciate anybody who can swat me with a clue-by-four.

Here are two pictures: 1) inside of the starter box; and 2) the wiring schematic from inside the cover to the starter box. I am a complete nincompoop at reading schematics.

The saw itself has START - STOP buttons mounted in a box on the front. So there are two separate cables now routed to the inside of the starter box: The smaller cable from the start-stop box and the larger 220v single phase, 20 amp power supply cord. Although not clearly shown in the picture of the box there are three holes into it. The power supply cord enters from the bottom right. The START - STOP cable enters from the back just above it. A little to the left of this hole there is a slightly larger hole. I assume (but don't know) that's where the cable from the motor is supposed to enter the box. That hole is visible but a black cable curls around in front of it, almost making it look like it enters the box from there. But it doesn't.