What's new
What's new

Single Phase Transformer to de-rated 3 Phase VFD

AMHarris

Plastic
Hello All, I am a woodworker and new to the site, but this seems to be the place to go when you have transformer and phase converter questions! I have a new tablesaw that I am trying to get running which has a 5hp 3 phase direct drive motor that draws 6.4 FLA and would like to run it on single phase 220v.

I've read ToolNut's suggestion to run 440 3 phase motors on single phase through a transformer/vfd and would like to go this route utilizing a general purpose Hevi-Duti 10kva single phase 440/220 step down transformer that I would like to back feed, the 440 of which will go to a 10 HP 440v GE AF-300P11 VFD.

My questions are, when wiring a single phase transformer in reverse, how many amps will the transformer be pulling? Also, do the grounding issues from back feeding transformers only apply to three phase delta-wye units or all units including single phase? How do I ground this properly?

I understand the calculation for the "new" primary in my case to be: 10kva/220v = 45.45A*125% overcurrent protection = 56.81A, but have also read that you should increase the overcurrent protection by 250% to compensate for the higher inrush! Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

I use that system on my RPC, that of stepping up the 240 to 480 before feeding the idler motor.

In theory, yes, you are correct, there is a difference between the design primary and secondary in the that design primary must carry the magnetizing current in addition to the load current. The primary is usually the innermost set of windings which increases the coupling and hence improves regulation.

Now, all that aside, there is no practical reason that you cannot reverse the transformer. I seriously doubt you will ever come close to loading the transformer to its max continuously. As far as currents are concerned, the transformer is 10kva, the current at 240 is 41.7 amps and at 480, 20.8 amps.