What's new
What's new

Sticking Potential relay

CLeschak

Plastic
Hey guys, after a lot of research I built an RPC to power my new lathe. Now I have got some experience with electrical, but little when it comes to capacitors other than hooking them up per prints.

My phase converter is a 5HP 3 phase motor using a magnetic contactor for starting, and a potential relay to cut out the start cap once it is up to speed. Originally I bought a Supco universal potential relay which worked fine at first. My RPC would not get up to speed before blowing my 30A TD fuse though so I unded up bumping up the start capacitor. I am now running a 430-516 UF start cap which gets my motor up to speed quickly and was working fine until my cheap potential relay contact stuck and caused the start cap to make a nice smoke show.

I thought, okay, I cheaped out on the start cap so I will just fork out the cash for the Steveco 90-66 and be done with it.

I hooked it all up with a new start cap and it fires right up, but the idler motor is making that grinding noise (the one it makes when there is way too much power on one leg right before it blows the start cap) and so I quickly switch of the RPC before blowing another start cap up.

Now, I am reading the specs of this 90-66 relay and it says it is a minimum pickup of 208 and max 239.. Does this mean that if my RPC is unbalanced and I am seeing around 260V on that leg that it would possibly not let the potential relay switch out the start cap?

I was planning on balancing this out (currently have two 60UF run caps, one from L1-T3 and one from L2-T3) but I need to be able to start it up and run it to get a good reading and then make adjustments..

While it was running I was seeing something like 238 (L1-L2) 245 (L1-L3) 264 (L2-L3).

I am sure everything else is right since it was up and running beautiful for a while. Had the machine going forward, reverse, all speeds, etc without a hint of a problem.