What's new
What's new

VFD: 120v single phase input, 240v 3 phase output?

Dan1900

Aluminum
I was under the impression that a vfd needed 220v power to run a 3 phase motor. Now I'm not an expert by any stretch but I came upon this vfd on ebay:

Fuji FRN0005C2S-6U 1 HP 120V 1Ph In, 240V 3Ph Out, Frenic-Mini VFD Inverter
Fuji FRN5C2S-6U 1 HP 12V 1Ph In, 24V 3Ph Out, Frenic-Mini VFD Inverter | eBay

This seems like it would be perfect for my application. I have a 1hp 3 phase motor on my lathe that I would like to run on 120v if possible.

I don't currently have access to 220v, but will in the future. If I'm reading something wrong above and it actually won't work, can someone recommend me a vfd for my application?

I presently run four motors on VFDs, via 120 volt supply, this way.

Most of those are TECO drives, but the one hp one is Hitachi. I would have gone
with the inexpensive TECO for that lathe, but at the time apparently the manufacturer
of the TECO drives had some sort of production problem.

Am very happy with the Hitachi.

Let's try this:

Stand on the spot where the machine will sit.

Do you see:

The electrical panel?
OR
A dryer outlet?
OR
An electric range outlet?

IF yes to any of the above, 220 volts is right there.

Might be cheaper to install a proper adapter or proper outlet for the VFD required.

Thanks everyone, I guess you learn something new every day. Not sure where I got it in my head that you NEEDED 220v to run a 3 phase motor via VFD, but if it can be done with 120v thats perfect.

Ah, but you DO need 240V in to get 240V out, with one notable exception.