What's new
What's new

Wiring Questions replacing an import motor with a Baldor. Diagram, and pict inside

rbthntr64

Plastic
Hello,
Newbie here and need help swapping out the motor on my Birmingham YCL-1236GH lathe. I picked up a replacement Baldor to replace the burned up import. I had it checked and the shop told me the start winding was shot. Both motors are 6 lead, but the pictoral doesn't do much to aid in determining which wire is which. any help is greatly appreciated!

YCL1236diagram_zps284377c0.jpg

baldorD90L_zps21b916f7.jpg

A single phase motor needs only two "hot" wires connected to two "line" wires in the motor's junction box.

And you didn't take notes or put a voltmeter on the leads before you dismantled the connections?

The Baldor diagram is just confusing you, the start winding, the capacitor, etc. should be tucked inside the machine, and you shouldn't need to adjust those details.

If the motor reverses, well, yes, the wires involved will be brought out to a contactor,

Ignoring any reversing feature, you want to take four wires and create two connections of two wires each.

Figure out the two "hot" wires on the lathe when the lathe is running, and determine the "line" wires on the motor, perhaps by reading the wiring schematic usually glued to the inside of the junction box cover.

I got the lathe with the motor already removed. My dilemma is translating the baldor wires to the import motor wires. The front/ rear terms on the spindle switch translate from Chi-English as Fwd/Rev. Here is the control box diagram.

scan0001_zps3f93375c.jpg

Because that single phase reversible two speed motor is switching between all of its features, all of those wires need to be brought out of the motor to contactors in the electrical enclosure.

When those connections were severed, it is possible that small stubs of the wire were left behind, to clue the (next) technician about the connections? Were the terminals left loose, as a hint?