What's new
What's new

7.5hp r7 RPC, 3 phase panel, disconnects, starters. need some advice

keith524

Aluminum
im new to the 3 phase ordeal, and would like alittle advice on how to go about what I need to do. I got my baldor 3-phase grinder hooked up with your guys help, now for the bigger project. the whole shebang!
I have acquired

phase-a-matic R-7 7.5 hp RPC
square d 200 amp 3-phase panel, this thing is a monster! with some breakers
2 fused disconnects, both 30 amp disconnects
2 magnetic starters, one nema size 1 square D starter with thermal overload, the other Gould a.c. mag starter class a-20 starter
some metal flex conduit
20ft piece 6-4 flexiable wire
3 male, 2 female 3phase twist lock plugs
4 non fused square d disconnects

im at the point where im ready to hook it up, the 3 phase panel has 30 spaces. I was thinking maby I could run everything from the 1 panel since it was so damn big but I want to make sure to have plenty of room in the future. right now, I have

2 cincinatti hydra shifts, only keeping 1 3 phase lathe
1 national gap bed 14x40 lathe 3 phase of course
1 Bridgeport j head
1 index mill

I only plan on keeping 1 3-phase lathe and 1 3-phase mill.

any reccomendations? as far as keeping the single phase panel, going from RPC to square D starter then to 3-phase panel then to disconnects? any help would be great!

I am no electrician, but my system goes: single-phase breaker to RPC cut-off, RPC to 3-phase panel, panel to individual disconnects, then to starters. Regards, Clark

wonderful clark, that's a start for me, thank you for that, that is exactly what I was wanting to know. all of my 3 phase machines should have motor starters on them, that's another reason I was asking about these thermal overload contacts.