What's new
What's new

FactoryMation and Dealerselectric recommend different VFD's; Help me choose

cryptrx1

Plastic
Hello everyone,

I recently purchased a small, old Rockwell milling machine with a ¾ hp three-phase motor, and I want to power it with a 1 hp VFD from 220 single-phase.

After reading through some of the posts here, I contacted FactoryMation and dealerselectric, and, based on some of the features I want, they recommended drives.

FactoryMation recommends: TECO 7300CV

Dealerselectric recommends: TECO V3-201-cs (This is a new model, apparently).

How do I decide between them?

Teco seems to have added a few new drives to their lineup. Is it good to go with new?

The features I think I want:

• Sensorless vectoring
• Dynamic braking, with an added resistor (sourced from elsewhere)
• The ability to add a remote drum-switch, E-stop (I am new at this), and a speed/ frequency POT—all at the same time.
• The drive will be mounted in a large metal cabinet, so I don’t need to pay extra for a NEMA 4 enclosure

They sell for about the same price.

Both drives have the ability to have the keypad/ screen assembly remote mounted—with the purchase of a $40.00 cable—ouch.

Which one of these drives do you recommend?

I don’t know much about VFD’s; what features, abilities, etc. separate the 7300CV from the N3?

Do I need to make sure that a drive for a mill has any other specific features?

Do the drives above have everything I need?

Any advice, opinions, detailed feature analysis/reports, general banter, and rantings/ravings will be greatly appreciated.

PS. sorry if this post is impossible to read. I wanted to get it all in, and now it's all incoherent--Darn you, cut-and-paste.

Bill

First post, good question :D

If you want the least costly Teco vector drive, look at the EV Series:

http://dealerselectric.com/item.asp?PID=417

Display does not detach, fewer bells & whistles, but strong performance at low cost.