What's new
What's new

Need help! Have 3 Ph 440 volt Pullmax need to run off single phase

Zmancustoms

Plastic
Hello everyone,

I have a Pullmax Nibbler I need to run off single phase in my shop. It has a 3 phase motor looks to be 2 speed from what I can tell. It has 2 separate hp ratings on the plate 5.5 hp and 6.5 hp. it is 440 volt 1720 rpm and 3500 rpm. I have been told to go the VFD route with a foot control for the variable speed. I am new to setting up this kind of thing and would really like to find someone in the Dallas Texas area to help. If there is anyone out there that wants to make some extra money helping me out that would be great. Also any information on how to go about doing it myself would be great. Can someone tell me what VFD I need?

Thanks in advance.
Zane

Single phase supply at what voltage in your shop? If you have 440 available there are VFD that operate off single phase but you have to look at the specs closely
to see if the VFD accepts single phase and at what derating. If you only have 230v single phase then at that motor power a 220 -> 440 transformer rated at about
5 KVA would be needed. DrivesWarehouse is located in Dallas and a phone call to them might be a start: https://www.driveswarehouse.com/t-contact.aspx

Here is a writeup on running HV motors on 220V: HowTo: 240V Supply to a 400V AC Motor - Application Detail Whether this would
suit is hard to know, but some derating is implied, some being at least 30%. IE the motor will run but only be good for 3-4 HP.

Zmancustoms, I'm told VFDs are expensive and they're down fall is they only operate one machine, If you ever come across another 3 phase machine you would have to buy another VFD.

If you buy what is called RPC Rotary Phase Converter, you can run multiple machines off the same phase converter.