What's new
What's new

Setting up my electrical.

Matt Matt

Cast Iron
Okay I'm kinda new to getting certain voltages to my machines. I'm just starting out building my home machine shop. I'm not a stranger to high voltage machines. I work using them all day long in an industrial environment but 600 V is already there.

But now I'm going to embark on setting up single phase 240 V 40A to my future shop. From the disconnect I'm planning on dropping one outlet (for a welder with voltage and amp display) and splicing to a 240 5 hp Rotary phase(with starting caps, running caps, magnetic start and 3 V/A displays). Then I'm planning on running it into 240 V three phase 30A (with 15 amp fuses) disconnect and dropping one outlet and spliced to a 240V to 600V transformer. After the 600 V transformer back into another 600 V 30A (with what size fuse do I need here?) disconnect and dropping another outlet. Each machine will be fused accordingly (on the back of the machine) to the motor specs unless of course equal to the disconnect. So far does this sound okay? I am a single man shop (and through my research) I know I can't draw more than 3.4hp at 240 V three-phase . Would this still be 3.4 hp at 600 V?

Thanks for any help in advance.
Matt M.

You need a Canadian code guru, and I am not he. But for sure, I'd have 60A MINIMUM on that initial distribution disconnect, 100A load center 'off the lugs' with its own main breaker if I legally could do.

Not 40A. That's nought but a b****y kitchen range or clothes dryer outlet. My 1970's vintage stick welder gets a 50A alone.

Bill