What's new
What's new

VFD keeps tripping GFCI

Stronghold

Aluminum
First off, I want to let everyone know up front that I'm an electrical noob of the highest order. I picked up a South Bend lathe and an Ex-Cell-O mill, both of which have 3 phase motors and are located in my garage. I hooked a VFD up to the lathe that's meant to run off of 115v single phase which is all I have in the garage. I've got everything wired up with 12 AWG cord and when I plug it in the VFD turns on just fine. When I hit "run" the motor will spin for a second and then the GFCI trips. I can reset the GFCI and the VFD turns on again just fine and then trips again when I try to run the motor.

From my research it seems that this is a common issue with VFD's, and people usually just replace the GFCI receptacle with a standard one and everything is good to go. Now, from my understanding I must retain GFCI's in my garage in order to remain compliant. Does anyone know what I can do to fix this annoying issue while staying compliant?

VFDs often have enough leakage to ground to trip a GFCI that's working properly.

The instruction manuals for my VFDs even include a specification (> 3.5mA) and discussion of that fact.

As Bill said, you should use 240v AC for your machines, regardless of whether you use a VFD or not.

- Leigh

Was surprised to find that the latest code does require GFCI outlets in a garage ("All 125-volt, single-phase, 15- or 20-ampere receptacles installed in garages and grade-level portions of unfinished accessory buildings used for storage or work areas shall have ground-fault circuit-interrupter protection for personnel.")