What's new
What's new

Anyone here hammer veneer?

I didn't get a lot of support on OWWM, and kind of expect less, here, but you never know. There's a lot of really professionally talented people here who don't say much. :)

I'm re-attaching loose 2 ply veneers "everywhere" on a factory piece made ca. 1926. I'm hammer veneering it with hot hide glue, because that system is simple, elegant, and there's really no better method for veneers that were originally laminated with hot hide glue; especially if the only way to get glue into extensive areas is a small slit. When posted on OWWM i had Q's, but have since essentially worked them out, so this is intended as discussion. But advice welcome if you actually have some deep experience. Anyone else still use the process?

smt

Last edited:
I have no useful experience to share (hammered one piece to try out learned-from-book technique back in the 80's when I was still wood-working actively) but would also like to hear more.

I have, but not extensively. Took a class on it 20 years ago, and used it in my work for a while, but not extensively. Works great, but vac bag ended up being more practical for the work I was doing (bookmatched cabinet doors) as I don't do repair work if I can avoid it.....which is NEVER, these days.

I, too , was using hot hide glue.

I've tried to fast forward through some of his vids, but they don't really "grab" me. :)

There are a number of youtube videos by more or less competent people doing hammer veneering, but Barry Lorimer seems to be the only one who was trained and used it as a productive, matter of course, trade. Competence plus speed & efficiency! Studying his videos, it occurred to me that part of my problem is i am not willing to get the veneers as soaking wet as he does! When he is done with a veneer (before applying it) it is a totally limp, submissive, and more or less flat piece of very damp wood.