What's new
What's new

Anyone know how much a Jarvi bench costs?

they are nice looking, if a bit generic Danish Modern.
I agree about the video- hard to be badass when running Grizzly tools...
and his taste in music is pretty bad.

my guess is 2 to 3 grand, minimum.

me, I would make it from metal- but I like metal.

like contemporary blacksmiths, a lot of woodworkers like Jarvi concentrate on tricks that really only appeal to other technicians- its an inside joke, in a way- impressive, but ultimately not as important as the design, the wood itself, the utility, and how it fits into the entire history of furniture.
american craftsmen have often fallen down this very self referential rabbit hole. they make this stuff mainly to impress themselves that they can do it.
as a technician, I care about technique- but most people could care less. I certainly fall prey to this syndrome sometimes, but think its important to put it in perspective, to go to a museum now and then and look at the entire march of history, not just focus on my own sleight of hand.

Cripes.....15 minutes of crap just for a 10 second view of the finished piece.....and it's shown up against a wall,
not from all around.
I can't tell even if there is contrasting colors like I have seen of that style on other pieces.

For sure our own Stephen Thomas would do a better job of photographing & documenting it.

....and not with a gopro camera mounted on an over caffeinated squirrel either.....:crazy:

The reason he's a "badass" is shown at about 4:30 - he's working in the metric system! Plus he wears a floppy cowboy hat, a universal badass symbol.