What's new
What's new

Need Advice On Clear Coat Over Spray Enamel Paint

Vladymere gr

Hot Rolled
I am a home hobbyist in need of advice.

I am refinishing my granddaughter’s cello. Normally it would be sacrilege to refinish a stringed instruments finish but this the lowest grade student instrument made from plywood and originally finished in what I think was an epoxy finish, sky blue.

Over the years the finish has chipped and my granddaughter’s elation over the color has waned. She asked me to refinish it. Those of you that have a young teenaged granddaughter that still idolizes you know what you say when she asks you if you can perform a task like this.

So I’ve stripped the instrument of it original finish, down to the bare wood, coated it in three or four cans of Krylon brand gray primer and then three cans of the color of Krylon brand spray enamel that my granddaughter chose for the new color, scuffing the finish in between coats with a grey Scotchbrite pad.

I tried coating the instrument in about six coats of Minwax Polycrylic; a water based polyurethane trying to achieve a smooth clear, glossy top coat. I again use3d the grey Scotchbite pad in between coats. I chose the water based poly since it does not yellow with time I have read. I could never get a smooth finish. In addition the color changed with all of the scuffing and coat applications.

I am stripping it back down to the paint, taking all the poly off and will repaint it with the Krylon spray enamel.

Now for the advice I seek. What should I use to give a tough, clear glossy finish over the Krylon enamel paint? Should I use Krylon clear Coat spray in a can? Traditional brush on Polyurethane? Wipe on Polyurethane? Something else?

Thanks fellows,

Vlad

Vlad,