What's new
What's new

Stuck with Surfcam, REALLY need new CAM, any suggestions?

I’ve been using Surfcam for about 17 years, Mastercam for 8 years before that. I have to agree with what’s been said already about the UI and learning curve. Yes it’s an overpriced POS but for us it works and makes good code. We make some of the most sophisticated molds for castings used in aerospace using Surfcam and KeyCreator. Stick with it for another year and see if you can make it work. There are reason that CAM systems cost as much as they do and reasons why they seem so dammed complicated sometimes. A Little training will cost a lot less than the cost of a new software package that will probably need training also.

I have used Solidworks and SurfCAM extensively for mold, tool and die, aerospace, 4 axis and all matter of parts. They work wonderfully together in most cases, especially if design changes occur. I also think Solidworks is a very fast geometry creation/modification tool. SurfCAM is like the others(GibbsCAM, MasterCAM, VX, et al) in that they commonly do the same things with different buttons. If I can be of any help, send me a PM

We have looked into CAMworks, which looked appealing enough, the demo they gave me was very slick (of course I would like to see how it would actually work on one of MY parts..) and it felt like it was up to date with the industry.. however the more reading I do, makes me less and less sure it is going to be a smooth system (as well as 15k is hard to choke down, once all the solidworks and maintenance is said and done)