What's new
What's new

Miller 161 STL or STH?

rimcanyon

Diamond
I’ve not done a lot of sheetmetal welding, but I am repairing an old Porsche with some rusted body panels and I need to get a welder that will butt weld 18ga. Steel and do a nice job. I’ve owned a Miller Syncrowave 250 for about 25 years and it has never failed me until I tried butt welding thin sheetmetal at 10 amps. It just can’t give a consistent arc; one minute it is too low in amps and the next it is burning through the sheet metal. Maybe it needs a rebuild. But for the same price I can buy a small inverter tig welder. So I am looking at the Maxstar 161 STL, or for a few more bucks, the STH. Would appreciate some feedback on those machines, keeping in mind that I have zero experience with an inverter welder; every welder I have owned has been a big transformer machine. I was a bit disappointed to find out that I cannot use any of my water cooled torches or 14 pin remotes with the 161, it seems to be a whole new ballgame.

3 years ago I bought an AHP Alpha Tig 200x to replace my 1973 Airco 300 Heliwelder that's always had crappy high freq. and other inconsistent issues with arc. The AHP has been fantastic, I've butt welded razor blades with it, sharp edge to sharp edge.

Dkmc, does the AHP welder have high frequency start? That is the only difference between the two Miller tig welders, one has only “lift arc” start, the other has both. I’m used to high frequency start, but if lift arc start works as well or better then I will go with the cheaper model, the 161 STL. What I can’t get over is the small size of the 161, I think it weighs 13 pounds.

I have been running maxstar 150s (baby welder) for 15 years now. I prefer the high freq for all the misc stuff I do. Welding stainless sheets together is so much easier with a remote, I like the foot pedal.

Dont let the small size fool you. It has the guts, just not the duty cycle on 110.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk