What's new
What's new

Basic Gear Hobbing Query

Brannigan

Plastic
I've been running an old Barber Colman #3 to cut splines into brass shafts, using a 48DP serration hob to cut 18 teeth. All working perfect.

Now, I have a job to cut 36 teeth into the same diameter shaft. Might this be as simple as adjusting the change gear to cut 36 teeth, with the same hob, to double the number of revolutions? Obviously the teeth will be cut to half depth. Or would this ruin the piece?

Wondering if I would have to cut 18 teeth, then shift the slide or indexing of the shaft to cut another set of 18 teeth inbetween the first lot.

I'm new to hobbing and just trying to figure this out. Have been quoted £500 + VAT for a 96 serration hob so would clearly like to work out a cheaper route.

Thanks for your thoughts!

I’m no expert for sure but it seems obvious that if you are going to cut a different number of teeth into the same diameter shaft you will need a different hob. One hob will cut one tooth shape. Change the blank diameter and you must change the tooth count.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I’m no expert for sure but it seems obvious that if you are going to cut a different number of teeth into the same diameter shaft you will need a different hob. One hob will cut one tooth shape. Change the blank diameter and you must change the tooth count.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Realise that this would apply for involute gear teeth, though the tooth shape of serrations, in this case, is exactly the same.