What's new
What's new

Serial Numbers Wanted

I just joined the forum this morning.
I purchased a 16" Engine Lathe with SN: 20149.
Just starting to learn about it.
I believe it's a 1920s vintage.
It's in good shape, but needs some TLC.
I feel blessed to have been able to own a piece of working history!

Hi i am dealing with a situation here I have a fixed steady rest with SRD101T serial number seems to belong to a SB 13. I have a SB with 12569RKX1 6 serial number , I think and someone told me it is a heavy 10, I am new to this world. My problem is that I need an steady rest for my model. Can you help?

1951, yes!
This appears to be a 10L "stubby", measure the bed length for us. if it's 36-inches you are in the Short club, pretty rare lathes.
if it's 42-inches, that's the perfect small shop lathe! you win both ways!!

Steve
The bed is 36"; I hadn't realized this was a shorter lathe! Thanks for pointing that out. Will now do some research regarding "stubby" 36" 10Ls.:D

I just obtained a 9C, it's serial number is 92416. I guess it's 1930's

The lathe came with a peculiar designed 3 jaw chuck and a large 4 jaw with an inbuilt thread to fit the mandrel. Also a number of change wheels.

Hi Steve, thanks for compiling the data, a big job for sure. I recently acquired my SB 10K lathe and the learning journey is beginning. So much to know, where to start? Lucky me, it appears my lathe was never really used. The original greases had hardened up to the point nothing really turned. A complete dismantling, cleaning and lubing has it in a happy state.

It is a CL370RD with a 4 1/2 foot bed and the serial number is 35076 K.

Looking at your spreadsheets, I did find my model and by the serial number, it looks to be later 70's vintage. It has a 1/2 HP 3 ph motor, looks to be original. I've included some SB data sheets(see attached)that you can add to your material (in case you don't already have it).