What's new
What's new

Automation will never replace me

Digger Doug. I need to change my bio. I am no longer a tool and die apprentice. That was 2.5 years ago. I’m a Cnc lathe machinist that just hopped on a Cnc mill for the first time a month ago and have been one offing and small batching ever since. I’ve worked at a lot shops and manufacturing facilities OEMS. Etc. full scale Automation might be possible for 1/3 of these shops. The other 2/3 don’t know what the f$ck is going on either

So you washed out of the T&D program.....Excellent.

You have seen Fanuc robots loading CNC lathes ?
Been around for many, many years.

Oh looky, here's another owner looking to automate, a CNC lathe no less:
First robot suggestions?

Last edited:
So you washed out of the T&D program.....Excellent.

You have seen Fanuc robots loading CNC lathes ?
Been around for many, many years.

My thought of a cnc machinist...if I was making a job description is

Can fully inspect first article per print before running more parts. Does the same at required intervals.

Can debur and inspect parts while keeping machine running.

Can program parts, set up, and run without outside assistance. This includes making fixturing for new parts or part of continuous improvement, including program optimization.

Can make adjustments on the fly to correct tool paths.

Can operate manual mills and lathes to assist in product finishing (2nd ops etc) and or fixture building.

Performs maintenance on machine such as cleaning, lubing, and inspecting wear parts.

There's probably more but you get the gist.

My thought of a cnc machinist...if I was making a job description is

Can fully inspect first article per print before running more parts. Does the same at required intervals.

Can debur and inspect parts while keeping machine running.

Can program parts, set up, and run without outside assistance. This includes making fixturing for new parts or part of continuous improvement, including program optimization.