What's new
What's new

Tormach AF50 bandsaw review

DavidScott

Diamond
Yeah, I got one. I know, Tormach, but it is just an automatic bandsaw, not a cnc milling machine. Anyway, I like it. It's the right size and it does what I need, which is to cut up bars for my aluminum and steel widgets. I barely have room for it so a "real" auto saw would be way too big. This thing just needs a 110 volt 15 amp outlet and a little 90 psi air to work. So far I have cut up around 1,300lbs of aluminum bar into about 4,500 parts so I have some experience with it. For the most part I can hold +/-.004" but do get random swings of +/-.01" in part length cutting up 3" wide stacks of bars. I am going to check the clearances on the proximity sensors and play with the table feed cylinder speeds to see if I can't tighten up the length tolerances. I have a few minor complaints and the only big one is the bars like to ride up in the clamping vise as they feed through it so I have to push them down occasionally.

All in all, I really like the design and user friendliness, the part quality is ok for the most part, and it is at least assembled but you need to check all alignments and sensor gaps. You can take the infeed table off in 15 minutes and get it through a 24" door if need be and the saw alone weighs about 400lbs so one person can move it about anywhere if needed, which I needed. I am not saying this is the greatest auto saw for everyone but if you are a small shop this may be exactly what will work for you. I used to use a Hitachi chop saw with a 10" x 1/8" kerf blade to cut up all of my aluminum, which worked but sucked. This bandsaw has a 1/16" kerf which not only makes a lot less chips to deal with but on some parts I get an extra part per bar. Here is a video of it in operation.

That looks like a standard HF 7 x 12 chinese bandsaw, with a simple PLC control
put on it, much like IIRC Jim Glass did 15 years ago.

but I don't think his bounced and jumped so much.