What's new
What's new

Do I belong here?

Brian.M

Plastic
Not sure where I fit in, am I the dreaded "home shop Harry" or amateur? Im not a full time machinist, but as an industrial Mechanic I make alot of parts for machines, as well as modifying production parts. I am relatively new to machining, 4 years or so and completely self taught; SB lathe, Bridgeport and Kent surface grinder.

I've found alot of helpful information here, but when I've posted I've gotten not much help, and some smart ass answers.

Do I not belong here, or have I just had bad luck on here?

Some guys just think a novice needs to take their lumps, it is like throwing fresh meat to a starving dog. At least you can go on the internet and You tube for help. Those things weren't around when I was learning. There are a lot of bright people here compared to other machinist forums. There is an ignore feature where you won't see a person's reply unless they are quoted. You can use that to get rid of the asinine responses.

I had a friend who was trained by a nasty old man if there ever was one. My friend was supposed to replace this guy when he retired and just went to working for the company part time out of his home shop. The old guy was a brilliant toolmaker but only had interest in passing on 50% of his skills. Both had their own desk and work areas. Whenever my friend came around and the guy was working on something difficult he would stop and do something simple as to not divulge his whole bag of tricks. My friend actually had places where he would hide and spy on the guy.

That jackass would be about 85 or so now, maybe he is on here.

Far as I can tell you got good answers to the two questions you've asked. Stephen nailed the problem with your collet closer. Even "Digger" - our resident snarling guard dude chasing off newbies and spammers - treated your question on cutting off threads gently.

Do your homework first, then have a bit thicker skin, might be options?