What's new
What's new

Key Components of a Machine Shop Business Plan

ediaz700

Plastic
Hello everyone, after scanning over the forums on multiple occasions I've finally decided to make an account and start being more active.

I am fairly new to the world of machining although I have been around it my whole life. My father has been a machinist for over 30 years and started his own shop in California. Unfortunately, that did not last.

We are years removed from that first initial shop and now I am a young man that's recently graduated from college. My goal is to "resurrect" the shop my Dad had. From what I can gather it was a lack of planning that doomed the first shop, and now that my father is older and I will be taking on the responsibility of both business management and to a lesser degree shop management, I want to make sure we are well prepared this time around.

That said, I would greatly appreciate any advice from shop owners on this forum. What helped you all in establishing your shop and what advice what you have for someone looking to write a comprehensive business plan? What key factors would you suggest I include or be aware of?

Although I will also be partly relying on my own finances, I am also planning on raising capital so this is why I am focused on creating a comprehensive business plan.

Thank you all for your time.

As the saying goes, plans are useless but planning is essential.

You'll need two main skills- machining and business. If you don't have a strong knowledge of both, it's gonna be rough. Doable, but you need to assume you're going to learn some VERY expensive lessons.