What's new
What's new

Thoughts on surface grinder for home hobbyist?

Saberstar

Plastic
Just curious as to how many home hobby folks have a surface grinder?
I am kind of looking at them, but i have never used 1 before.
I read about them and would seem useful to have 1 but not sure really how often i would use it.
Thoughts?

I have a Harig Super 612 and don't use it much but when I need it it's there and it was relatively reasonable to buy. It has 6X12 inch magnetic chuck and it all manually operated but if you don't do a lot of grinding you don't really need automatic feed.

A few years ago I was talking to a friend of mine who owned a fairly large shop and I asked him why he didn't have any OD grinder and he told me that he is able to hard turn most anything to tight tolerances so a grinder wasn't needed. It may well be the same for surface grinding flat stuff in a lot of cases.

Reactions: RF
I think they're a great addition to an SB lathe (any small shop, really) because with minimal fixturing you can quickly grind text book perfect turning tools. Sure, you can buy an insert for anything but that's expensive and unnecessary for these lathes.

A Harig 612 is what I have and it's great. I do advise anyone using an SG to rig up a coolant system. They needn't be complex, mine is an aquarium pump that sits in a 5 gal bucket. This is perfectly sufficient to keep your parts cool and greatly reduce the amount of sparks thrown.

I only use mine a few times per year, but given its small size I can justify keeping it.

SGs can be very dangerous. Feeding the work into the wheel with excessive depth of cut can cause the wheel to shatter and send flying debris everywhere. YOU MUST TOUCH OFF WITH CAUTION. But other than thay they're very straightforward.