What's new
What's new

Bridgeport gx-480 with fanuc oi-MD control

Metalurgent

Cast Iron
Two days ago I started a job.
The previous guy is gone, there are no manuals and I'm pecking around the internet and youtube trying to figure this machine out. This is my first time with a Fanuc control after Haas and homebrew CNC UI's. They want parts made, I'm freaking out.
The machine came with a renishaw probe and toolsetter, with macros scrawled on the machine to send into MDI. The macros do their thing, but the offsets are not updated to the machine. I want to disable the probes etc and get back to basics.
I can change tools,
I want a bare-bones approach to setting tool offsets and work offsets.
I followed a number of videos and I'm making some progress
Set gage height of spindle nose to fixed height off table ( in my case 6.375", block plus gage pin), Reset origin, done.
If I load up say, tool 6, T6M06, I can measure and load the offset into the tool table with the INP.C key.

Question (1) For a bare bones setup, I put the offset into offset H001. Will the post default to offset H1 in a program? I have some simple test programs ready to run, but the FUSION360 post doesn't have any G43 callout that I can see to pick the height offset. The suggested post was "generic fanuc"

Question (2) When I change to a new tool and input a new height offset in the screen, the offset doesn't get saved. I see the current tool number displayed on the screen, I can update the number, but when I cycle the tools and come back to that tool, the offset is still set to the offset of the last tool measured.
**Because this machine was set up with probes, Is there a setting that I need to change to allow me to manually change offset?**
Is it possible that I'm missing some process to highlight the current tool so that the control "sees" the offset? I'm just entering the value in H1, with Z- INP,C.