What's new
What's new

Forklift Safety

NIKOLAT

Plastic
I’m new to these forums and see that many folks use forklifts for their home and business shops. Through the 1980s I was an engineer and later served as in-house expert witness for a forklift manufacturer, and I offer some brief suggestions for safe vehicle operation. Please try to obtain an operators manual and a parts manual for your lift. Learn safe driving and load handling technique, especially operating on poor surfaces, grades, and when lifting loads. Regardless of age or brand name of your 4-wheel sit-down rider forklift, check the stops that limit the motion of the pivoting steer axle. If they are not an integral part of the frame structure, make sure they are not missing or broken off. A tip over could occur if the stops are missing or broken. There’s a lot more to forklift safety than room to tell, so please be diligent to be safe in using and maintaining your forklift.

NIKOLAT

I appreciate the thought. My current machine is a Pettibone-Mercury badged Transitier made in the 50's, maybe? If you have a source for an operators or parts manual, I'm all ears.

My first job was driving a forklift. We got basic pointers, but not much else. It was in a paper warehouse and we were often working at the limits of the machines. That was almost 50 years ago. I heard that today you have to have a license or some kind of formal training if you do it for a business.

I had/took the OSHA forklift training and one thing was to have hand signals so you don't have to depend on voice, and the most important signal to be agreed on was "stop".
In the best forklift team, the driver looks at his guide ..and any time he can't see his guide he stops and waits until he can.
Yes, this is in tight situations like moving stuff in a tight space.
I was never a forklift driver but had to take the training because I had an electric truck to take broach bars that I built out to the machines.