What's new
What's new

OT - shipping a 20' container cross-country

Racer Al

Stainless
Hello there -- My wife and I are moving from the East Coast to the West Coast in August. As you might imagine, I have some heavy stuff - tools, motorcycles, etc. in addition to the regular household stuff.

I've heard enough bad news about household moving companies, so we bought a 20' shipping container to both move and store our belongings. I made arrangements with a friend who lives in the desert outside LA to store our container until we buy a house and get settled. The best part of this deal is that he'll purchase the container when it's empty for his own use, so it's win-win.

So, we need to start looking at shipping companies. I have zero shipping experience.
* Does anyone have suggestions for shipping companies that they like, or companies to avoid?
* Anything to watch out for regarding contracts -- i.e. favorable or unfavorable clauses/terms/conditions to look out for?
* What about insurance?
* Is it important to maintain a list of everything that has been packed in the container for insurance purposes?
* Will interstate shipments need to be inspected (i.e. can the container be locked)?
* What about getting the container from our home to the port/terminal/depot?
* If I understand correctly, this is called drayage -- is this done by the shipping company, or does a separate company handle it?

I understand that there are different modes and routes - it could be shipped by truck, by rail, or by sea - with correspondingly different costs. I'm concerned about exposing **all** our belongings to the risks of sea shipping, I expect it's more possible to lose or damage everything than with other modes, but I realize this is probably cheapest/slowest. Any comments about my assessment of this risk?

Any and all comments are welcome. Thanks in advance for sharing your wisdom.