What's new
What's new

2", 3" & 4" NPT Internal Thread Milling w/ VCarve Pro and CNC Router

Zac Penn

Plastic
I am a complete newbie when it comes to CNC router thread milling, and I am overwhelmed when I am searching for single profile thread mills on MSCDirect.

My immediate need is for a single profile thread mill that will be able to cut internal 2", 3" and 4" NPT threads into 1/2" thick Type I Rigid PVC sheet.

My Spears Technical Information catalog shows all of their NPT threads to be a 60* angle w/ the 2" having 11.5 TPI, and the 3" & 4" having 8 TPI, so maybe something simple like a 60* side cutter would work for this?
Could I use something as cheap as this as my cutter????? https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...OIEGB5VT&psc=1
Obviously not going to be the best quality, but I could have it tomorrow and the price point works hahaha

I mean don't you just need to either Pocket or Profile cut out the center hole and then use a 60* side cutter to make the threads? I don't know why it seems so complicated when looking on MSC for a single profile thread mill???

Some of the products have a specific thread labeled on the product listing, but it says it can cut anywhere from 8-16 threads per inch, so i am confused as to what cutter will work best for me. This one says it has a 3/4" cutting diameter, 60* angle, but then it states a specific thread that it is used for... https://www.mscdirect.com/product/details/81262487
I can always buy a different cutter for any other kinds of threads that I may be interested in down the road, but I need something RIGHT NOW that will work for 2"/3"/4" NPT threads. Finances are tight right now, so i only want to buy a single thread mill for this project IF POSSIBLE.

I have also never used the VCarve Pro thread milling toolpath before, so if you could provide me with some tips and tricks that would make my life easier I sure would appreciate it.