What's new
What's new

20 year old cross slide lock mod still in use weekly.

GDL264

Aluminum
I rediscovered this forum today and though it's not nearly as busy as 20 years ago I thought I would contribute with something I use on my lathe most every time I use it. At the time I was a complete newby when I restored and repainted my 10L lathe with help from this forum. I always wished it had the taper attachment option basically only for the cross slide lock. One evening I designed a simple one my self using the lathe and an Enco Mill Drill I also just finished modding up with this forum. It works as a lock but also you can put "drag" on it that really refines the cuts I found. I also fitted a simple Dial holder that give you a cross measurements. I did change the clamping rod to brass later to make it even smoother if I recall. I also made a common carriage lock w/dial. Here are the old 300 dpi photos that I found today and they are kind of self explanatory. The last 2 photos shows what 20 years of of garage hobbyist use looks like today.

Attachments

• Saddle lock side.jpg
    Saddle lock side.jpg
    17.9 KB · Views: 73
  • Saddle lock side wdial.jpg
    Saddle lock side wdial.jpg
    18 KB · Views: 71
  • Saddle Lock Top Lab.jpg
    Saddle Lock Top Lab.jpg
    33.8 KB · Views: 69
  • Saddle dial fixtures.jpg
    Saddle dial fixtures.jpg
    15.3 KB · Views: 63
  • SB Carriage Stop Guage.jpg
    SB Carriage Stop Guage.jpg
    18 KB · Views: 60
  • SB Stops.jpg
    SB Stops.jpg
    29.6 KB · Views: 61
  • SB Cross Stop.jpg
    SB Cross Stop.jpg
    22.1 KB · Views: 61
  • IMGP0936.JPG
    IMGP0936.JPG
    508 KB · Views: 57
  • IMGP0937.JPG
    IMGP0937.JPG
    469.6 KB · Views: 68
Last edited: