What's new
What's new

4-40 Roll form tapping - speeds?

colton_m

Aluminum
Hello,

I have some aluminum (6061) parts that require 4-40 threads (.300" deep)

I have never used form taps before but thought this might be a great project to try them out on.

I was wondering if anyone with experience running these taps could chime in with some real-world cutting parameters to try out first?

Thread:
4-40 .300" deep, blind hole in 6061
Tap: Nachi (#97784) HSSE-V with a DLC coating.
Holder: ER-16 Tap collet
Machine: 2015 Haas, has rigid tapping.

The coolant in this machine is sitting at about 10% concentration, I'd prefer to just use coolant.

The Nachi catalog suggests drilling #39 (0.0995") and running 100SFM (3570rpm).

Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks!

As fast as you trust the machine :D

We were just running some M12x1 cut holes in aluminum at ~1800RPM. Worked fine. I would be more concerned with such a shallow hole in that the spindle won't reach 3k anyway, so maybe try 1200, then keep bumping it up until you don't see any time savings.

FWIW I love form taps.

Edit: This was in a 2012 Haas VF-6SS. Also you'll save a bit of time by setting the spindle speed but NOT using M3. The control will do it in the tapping macro and won't have to stop the spindle to orient.

3570 RPM gives you 89.25 inches per minute. Assuming a .05" return height, that would ideally come to just under a quarter of a second to get to the bottom of the hole. And then it has to come to a full stop before the bottom. That leaves less than an eighth of a second to reach top speed. I can't imagine any normal mill spinning up that fast. I think you'd be doing incredible if you topped out at half that RPM. Even then, you end up with an average speed well below 1,000 RPM.

I program pretty much every tap (within reason) at 30 inches per minute, and match the RPM to that. I get the feeling most people program them faster, but I've never noticed their machines actually running any faster.