What's new
What's new

9X19 LUGER D-BIT CHAMBER REAMER.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't know why, but every translation comes out wrong. correction: "misspelled: I meant that I don't know any operation that I can't do on a lathe or milling machine"

That's funny, because you had to ask, about how to make a simple D-bit reamer, so maybe not as knowledgeable as you thought!

Seems to me a person of your claimed experience, should have no trouble making a proper Chambering Reamer, too! Either from scratch, or by modifying a standard reamer.

Except, you threw a temper tantrum, when you were handed all the information you needed, that your 'vast experience' should have understood to be relevant to your inquiry.

I have no experience with D drills/Reamers but do understand the concept and have Tc grinders that could make them from scratch in tool steel or carbide.

But I really don't think I would want/trust such a cutter, likely +- .001 would still
work.. but that would be too chancy for any of my guns.

Usually, a reamer that I OD cuts .0002 larger than my micrometer size.
With back grinding the Od perhaps .00015
For closer one can shorten the reamer length into the back taper or diamond lap the od.

It would seem that just the heat using a D reamer would have you guessing a couple of tenths.

Last edited:
I have no experience with D drills/Reamers but do understand the concept and have Tc grinders that could make them from scratch in tool steel or carbide.

But I really don't think I would want/trust such a cutter, likely +- .001 would still

For closer one can shorten the reamer length into the back taper or diamond lap the od.

It would seem that just the heat using a D reamer would have you guessing a couple of tenths.
You start comparing chamber min-max dimensions, and cartridge min-max dimensions, and you pretty soon see that there is a lot more tolerance there to play with if need be.