What's new
What's new

Advice on Clausing drill press

BillyA

Aluminum
Hi everyone, new here and desperate for help please. I have a Clausing drill press model 2276, older model, with a Baldor 208V-230V 3 phase 2 speed 3/4 & 1 1/2 hp that I acquired from work. Problem is that I only have single phase at home shop, my question is would there be any way at all to use a vfd on this machine? I really want to keep the two speed switch and I know I cannot switch it while the vfd is powered on but could I not use the existing power cord to hook it up directly to the vfd and just make 100% sure the switch is not touched while it is powered on? I know the insulation is not rated for vfd drives and you're not supposed to have a switch Downstream from the vfd but it seems some people are getting away with using them on non-rated Motors. I'm not an electrician and I'm not a machinist by any means, I'm a welder that enjoys side projects at home. I used this machine once in awhile at work years ago but they plant manager was going to scrap it because it has been sitting in a corner for the last 8 years and I did not want to see it going to the scrap bin. Any help is greatly appreciated. 20230505_152218.jpg20230502_093549.jpg20230509_160749.jpg20230502_093610.jpg20230505_152231.jpg

Attachments

• 20230509_161844.jpg
    20230509_161844.jpg
    295 KB · Views: 9
Yes it can be done, and it isn't even hard. But you will need to rewire the drill press so the speed control barrel switch only sends commands to the VFD, and is not in the 3-phase power path between VFD and motor. You will also need to bring single-phase 220 Vac power to the VFD, as if the VFD were an electric clothes dryer. You will need to find someone who knows how to do all these things.