What's new
What's new

Advise on motor speed control

wrongwayrick

Plastic
This will be a long post

First off machining is a hobby for me. I am an electronics technician for a living and hope to fabricate a new circuit to fit into the old motor controller housing

The long story

I am looking for information for a motor speed control for the table feed for my Rockwell milling machine. The machine uses a Robbins and Meyers universal motor (see photo) and when I received the machine it was connected to a {dc-1} motor controller housing that had been gutted and some sort of home-brew circuitry (a bridge rectifier on a heat sink and a lamp dimer module rated for 150 watt bulbs).

The lamp dimmer module was blown (on/off worked but no control) and the bridge rectifier was making about 160 volts (normal for a bridge rectifier but a little high for the motor in my opinion)

The motor works fine with 4 leads coming out (2 for the brushes and 2 for the field coils) and reverses with swapping the correct wires with a double pole double throw switch.

My first thought was to use a router motor speed controller from harbor freight which does work but is going to require me to play with the potentiometer value as the lower third of the scale results in no movement thus giving me a compressed range for the speed control, also the speed changes quite a bit from no load to loaded when cutting .

My new thought is to reuse the original controller box and install a full wave rectifier (not a bridge) and use it to power the field coils as a permanent magnet (similar to the magnets in cordless power tools) and only changing the voltage and polarity on the armature for direction and speed. My hope is by having a constant magnetic field in the field coils I will have better speed regulation between load and no load.

Questions

1) Does this sound correct or am I missing something ?