What's new
What's new

B&S universal versus Elliott surface grinder?

Steve Marquess

Cast Iron
Ok, I'm a rank newbie who bought a severely abused Elliott 10x20 surface grinder a couple of years ago sight unseen for scrap price. Darned if I wasn't able to get it to actually work without too much grief or expense, including the Walker mag chuck, and it's now my second favorite toy (after the Moore #2 jig bore :-).

Just a few miles from my house a Brown & Sharpe #1A cylindrical universal grinder is destined for the scrapyard (see http://cgi.ebay.com/Brown-Sharp-Uni...ryZ12580QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem).
I went to see this, it would need some TLC but looks less abused than the Elliott was.

The question: I don't have room for both, long term. The B&S looks to have about a 10x20 work area, and the wheelhead mounts a 12" wheel, same as the Elliott. Assuming it works, would it take the place of the Elliott for surface grinding in addition to the cylindrical grinding? I've cranked the wheel on the Elliott way up, a couple of feet off the chuck. Will the B&S wheelhead go up as high? The reciprocating and stepping controls on the B&S look to be far more sophisticated than on the Elliott traverse (X) feed and cross (Z) stepping. Will I be sorry if I strip the mag chuck off the Elliot and sacrifice it for the B&S 1A?

Any thoughts appreciated...

One's a surface grinder and one is not. I.E., intended for differing functions.