What's new
What's new

Bridgeport VMC600/22 TNC370 Issue

Barvek

Plastic
Joined
Jan 23, 2022
Hi all,

Any help is massively appreciated with this headache!

My Bridgeport VMC600/22 with TNC370 controller is currently displaying "external DC voltage missing" when turned on, as though the e-stop circuit is activated.

I've check the 24vDC outputs, both okay, checked door switch, e-stop itself, lube level, limit switches etc. and i'm struggling to find a problem.

I've been advised it could be the safety relays, one thing to note is that prior to its current state it had started tripping the e-stop prior to a tool change. So at the start of the program it would get to "TOOL CALL 1" then "M6" and it would hang on the M6, and not change tools, while also displaying "emergency stop" on the screen. A quick in/out of the e-stop and it would reset, spin the spindle a little, change tools, and continue as normal.

Now, I can't get past that intitial "external DC voltage missing" screen. I'm not the most knowledgeable about these machines so if anyone has any experience or guesses by all means.

Any ideas?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2022
Any wiring/switches in the tool changer tied in to the safety circuitry or anything the plc would kill power for?
I had a mill with a tool shuttle giving me strange issues. It would throw errant alarms stating arm not getting into place, drawbar closing prematurely, or just stalling. Turned out to be some broken wires at the terminal block on top of the shuttle.
 

Barvek

Plastic
Joined
Jan 23, 2022
@Gustafson

No, unfortunately this makes no difference.

@Variablyparametr

I've had a look at the proximity switches on the tool carousel extend/retract, and the retract switch is lit up. Not to say it could be a different switch, such as clamp/unclamp, but I did try messing with those to no avail.
 

Barvek

Plastic
Joined
Jan 23, 2022
Unfortunately, holding the enable button doesn't change anything.

I'm currently trying to track down all the proximity switches in the tool changer to check they're all working properly, nothing found so far.

If anyone has any suggestions I'm looking at it now.
 

BugRobotics

Hot Rolled
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Location
Denver, CO
Have you checked the contactors in the cabinet responsible for the estop? I've had some that don't like the cold and will trip prematurely if not warmed up a bit.
 

gustafson

Diamond
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Location
People's Republic
Have you checked the contactors in the cabinet responsible for the estop? I've had some that don't like the cold and will trip prematurely if not warmed up a bit.

And come to think of it when you pop a relay under load[like during a tool change] there can be some arcing of the contacts, do it over and over, this is a good call.
 








 
Top