What's new
What's new

Calibrating Mitutoyo 0-12" depth mic set

MyLilMule

Hot Rolled
Forewarning: I am a hobbyist. I lack knowledge and experience in many things but have an above average capability to learn.

My son is interning at a plant that has a small machine shop. They had several of these, brand new, never opened, that they were tossing in the garbage. He managed to save this set for me. I checked the 0-1" pin with a known reference and it was a good .040" off from what any of my outside mics read. I'd like to have them calibrated. But I don't know where to begin or what it would cost. If it isn't cost prohibitive to take them or send them someplace, I don't mind doing that. I'm $0.00 into a $400 set of depth mics.

I do not have a set of gauge blocks to try this on my own. If it's easy enough to get reasonably close (+/ .001" is close enough for what I do), maybe I will just find a set of gauge blocks and do it myself? Or is that a fool's errand?

I'd appreciate some measured advice from those more in the know.

Thanks.

IMG_7975.jpegIMG_7977.jpeg

I'd firstly make sure you are properly seating the shaft, and using the smallest rod confirming that the zero position is reading zero. The barrel can be adjusted with the small spanner tool if it isn't spot on, and that sets the baseline for all the other rods (they are calibrated to the same offset.) If the zero is set correctly and you are getting errors when measuring a known height, then your known hight, technique and reference surface need to be re-examined. It is easy to get unintentional errors when measuring these small distances, and the tool isn't the first thing to suspect.