What's new
What's new

Caranuba wax or lacquer for Brass/Aluminum?

maxinquaye

Plastic
I'm finishing up a mechanism which will live inside a wooden puzzle box. It's made of brass and aluminum. The mchanism will be visible when the box is opened, and I managed a nice brushed / jeweled finish on the parts. I'd like to protect the metal from oxidation by putting some sort of finish on it. I'm primarily a woodworker, so the easiest thing for me would be to spray it with lacquer or use my buffer to put a light coat of wax on it. The parts should not be subject to much handling, and do not rub against each other. Which finish would be provide better long term protection? Will either of them react with the metal? TYIA!

Lacquer can be a whole bunch of different things. Most of them are probebly ok. Caranuba wax is probebly ok too. The carnuba won't hold up too well under wear, but if it isn't going to be touched, it ought to last pretty much forever... assuming that you are able to get a thorough coat on there and the corosion can't get underneath the coating.

B

In my antique clock restoration work, I found that wax did not last very long. I use the traditional shellac finish on brass parts, applied very much the way it would be applied to finished wood, with cheese cloth. For silvered areas such as chapter rings on clock dials, I used traditional clear lacquer. I have never tried polyurethane, as it would be out of place in restoration work.

Mike

Hi Max,

I have a similar problem, and have not found a lasting solution. I build model engines, which often have some polished brass parts that I would like to keep bright-looking. Most of these are functional, and small scale, so a spray-on coating is not really workable. I have used several coats of paste wax, and it seems to keep the brass looking shiny for up to a year, or so. Eventually, to keep up appearances, I have to re-polish and re-wax.