What's new
What's new

Claims of Patent Infringement - need perspective

Why am I getting the feeling you are dealing with someone who's name starts with D and ends with ump? From all the costs people have been quoting here you can see how patents have lost all value for the majority of little guys, and have great value for the big guys. I have been sued once, in a personal injury case where I was not the responsible party. From that experience I learned just how ugly this kind of thing can get. I actually had the largest law firm in NJ file a "friend of the court brief" saying they had positively determined that I was at fault and should be held responsible by the court! This despite the fact that ALL the evidence pointed directly to someone else. Scared hell out of my wife, she wanted to divorce me. I wish you luck. I'll refrain from giving you any advice stupid or otherwise.

I am not a lawyer by any means, and am certainly not qualified to offer "advise" but what I would be doing in this type of situation...

-I like the keep quiet approach. I wouldn't give them any more than is absolutely, legally necessary, for great reasons pointed out already.

-I'd look into some way to record audio calls. I realize the probability is very small that you'll have much phone/audio correspondence with them, but I would want to have that recording if I ever needed it. I can't imagine the "...profit center ... dinner and drinks..." comment would resonate very well, should the case ever come before a judge...