What's new
What's new

Cleaning windows on a Haas VF3

Brad.Walker

Plastic
I'm new to CNC machining and have gained access to a reasonable Haas VF3.

My first job is to really do a deep clean on the machine. And in that regard, how does one properly clean the windows on it. What type of cleaning products, brushes, etc. If I knew what type of material the window was made of, I could certain determine what type of product to use. But, I couldn't even find that one out.

So suggestions on proper window cleaning and/or a definite answer on what type of material it's made of.

Thanks.

-brad w.

Haas windows scratch easily, so cleaning may not do a lot for you. If you want something safe, a clean, fresh mixture of your coolant and some rags may work (although you want to hose down any stuck chips first), or you can use the cleaners meant for computer monitors, those should be safe.

I'm new to CNC machining and have gained access to a reasonable Haas VF3.

My first job is to really do a deep clean on the machine. And in that regard, how does one properly clean the windows on it. What type of cleaning products, brushes, etc. If I knew what type of material the window was made of, I could certain determine what type of product to use. But, I couldn't even find that one out.

So suggestions on proper window cleaning and/or a definite answer on what type of material it's made of.

Thanks.

-brad w.
Soap and water works best in a spray bottle, mostly due to that most of the mess is dried coolant on the windows that is usually water based. ive messed up a welding helmet plastic screen cover with even non ammonia glass cleaners.